Start a new topic

Connecting to Amazon Redshift

[This topic is migrated from our old forums. The original author name has been removed]

This is my first time using this tool and I am still fairly new to databases in general so please bear with me if I am missing something obvious. I am trying to connect to an Amazon Redshift database that was setup for me with a schema loaded. I have successfully connected to this database using the PGAdmin tool, so I know that the database is setup correctly. When I try to connect via DbVis I get the following message: +An error occurred while establishing the connection:+ +The selected Driver cannot handle the specified Database URL.+ +The most common reason for this error is that the database URL+ +contains a syntax error preventing the driver from accepting it.+ +The error also occurs when trying to connect to a database+ +with the wrong driver. Correct this and try again+. I have tried with both the postgreSQL driver that comes preloaded, and the 4.0 and 4.1 drivers that can be found here: http://docs.aws.amazon.com/redshift/latest/mgmt/configure-jdbc-connection.html#download-jdbc-driver but all yield the same result. Can anyone help me troubleshoot this that has connected DbVis to Redshift before?

[This reply is migrated from our old forums.]

Re: Connecting to Amazon Redshift
Hi Mike, As the error message says, this error typically means that there is a syntax error in the JDBC URL. What does your JDBC URL look like? Also, I recommend that you use the Redshift driver instead of the PostgreSQL driver, and that you set the Database Type for the connection to Generic. Best Regards, Hans
[This reply is migrated from our old forums. The original author name has been removed]